Alumni Association News: Fall 2015

four white people

Meet the 2015-16 Officers of the University of Tennessee Alumni Association

Alan Ledger portaitPresident
Alan Ledger (Knoxville ’87), who resides in Memphis, is a regional sales manager with Lucite International. Alan first served on the Board of Governors in 2008 as an in-state representative. Since then he has served on the UTAA Programming, Communication and Finance committees. Prior to his service on the board, Alan was active with the Shelby County alumni chapter for over a decade and served as chapter president in 2007. He is married to Cindi, and they have a daughter, Lauren.


Kimbrough Dunlap III portraitPresident-Elect
Kimbrough Dunlap III (Knoxville ’85) resides in Brentwood and recently retired upon selling his company. He has been an active member of the Davidson County alumni chapter and served as president in 2008-09. He currently serves as a member of the Alumni Legislative Council and has served on the UTAA Annual Giving and Communication committees. He is married to Paula, and they have a son, Brody.


Tara Moore portraitTreasurer
Tara Moore (Knoxville ’87, Health Science Center ’92), currently resides in Knoxville and is a pharmacist at Belew Drugs. She formerly served as chair of the Women’s Council in 2010-11. Moore served on the Board of Governors as a representative for the UT Health Science Center and Women’s Council. She also is a member of the UT Alliance of Women Philanthropists. Her husband, John, is a 1984 and 1989 UT Knoxville graduate. Their son will be a freshman at UT Knoxville in the fall of 2015.


Tom Losh portraitPast President/Chair of Annual Giving
Tom Losh (Chattanooga ’71, ’74), who resides in Ooltewah, once served as the assistant dean of student affairs at UT Chattanooga, was assistant coach for the Mocs basketball team and head coach of the baseball team. The immediate past president of the UTC Alumni Board of Directors, Losh also is a member of the UC Foundation Board of Trustees. His wife, Teresa, is a 1977 and 1980 UT Chattanooga graduate.


View the 2015-2016 Board of Governors »

The 2015 UTAA Faculty Award winners are:

UT Knoxville

Paul R. Armsworth
associate professor, ecology & evolutionary biology
Outstanding Teacher

Katherine L. Chiles
associate professor, English
Outstanding Teacher

Sadie P. Hutson
associate professor, nursing
Outstanding Teacher

Jennifer Ann Morrow
associate professor, educational psychology & counseling
Outstanding Teacher

Douglas A. Blaze
professor, law
Public Service

UT Chattanooga

Elizabeth A. Gailey
associate professor, communication
Outstanding Teacher

Augusta R. Toppins
assistant professor, art & graphic design
Outstanding Teacher

June E. Hanks
associate professor, physical therapy
Public Service

UT Martin

Laura L. Brown
associate professor, health & human performance
Outstanding Teacher

Julie A. Hill
director, percussion studies
Outstanding Teacher

UT Health Science Center

Robert J. Nolly
professor, pharmaceutical sciences
Distinguished Service Professorship

Robert H. Hatch Jr.
assistant professor, restorative dentistry
Outstanding Teacher

Mark A. Miller
associate professor, microbiology, immunology & biochemistry
Outstanding Teacher

Sherry S. Webb
assistant professor, nursing
Outstanding Teacher

Waletha Wasson
associate professor, restorative dentistry
Public Service

This award is a direct attempt on the part of the UTAA to attract and retain outstanding professors.

These awards are given to faculty members on all UT campuses who have been selected by their colleagues and students as the outstanding teachers in a given year.

These awards recognize faculty and staff members who make substantial contributions during a particular year to the welfare and good of the state or national public.

Our annual awards are made possible by the generosity of UTAA Fund for the Future donors.