High-Tech Root Canal Training

Photo caption: David Clement, left, director of the postgraduate program in the College of Dentistry, explains a procedure to a resident in a state-of-the-art operatory in the new Dentsply Tulsa Endodontics Graduate Clinic.

The College of Dentistry has a new training facility for endodontists, who perform root canals and other similar procedures. Patients who aren’t too nervous can even watch the procedures being performed on a screen. Instructors watch the video feed to offer critique to the students. The Dentsply Tulsa Endodontics Graduate Clinic is named for Dentsply Tulsa Dental Specialties, which provided $300,000 to support the educational and outreach mission of the clinic.

Audiology and Speech Pathology rendering

60 Years of Service

The Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology celebrated 60 years of service with a groundbreaking ceremony for a new building at UT Medical Center in Knoxville. The department, a part of the College of Allied Health Sciences since 2009, educates 135 graduate students annually and includes hearing and speech clinics that provide around 10,300 services a year. The new building will provide space for teaching, research and patient care.

A First for Dermatology

Dermatology moved up from a division within the College of Medicine to a full department, now named the Kaplan-Amonette Department of Dermatology for Dr. Robert Kaplan and Dr. Rex Amonette, dermatologists in Memphis and UTHSC alumni, and Amonette’s wife, Johnnie, a former UT trustee. The department has new space for research and a clinic for the public.

Scholarship Winners

Scholarship Winners

The first recipients of the Dr. Ed Reed Scholarship Fund in the College of Medicine were announced in October 2013. Part of the funding comes from Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare. Reed, who died in 2012 at 92, was the first African-American general surgeon to establish practice in Memphis. The $10,000 scholarships are awarded to five African-American medical students. Pictured are, from left, Professors Patricia Matthews-Juarez and Paul Juarez; scholarship recipients Megan Ward, Bryauna Schunece Lewis, Keadrea Wilson and Petrina Craine; Dr. Owen Phillips, associate dean of Student Affairs; and Dr. David Stern, executive dean of the College of Medicine. Gary Shorb, president and CEO of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare, stands behind the students. The fifth scholarship recipient is Andrew Poole.